William Penn Winless at National Duals

William Penn University Athletics

William Penn University Athletics

by Wade Steinlage

Fort Wayne, Ind.–The Statesmen wrestling team found itself on the bottom side of two matches as it opened up the second half of its season at the NWCA National Duals Thursday.

WPU (1-3) began the double-elimination dual tournament with a 49-4 loss to #1 Grand View and was then knocked out of contention by #11 Campbellsville (Ky.), 49-3.

John Altieri (Jr., Warwick, R.I., Sociology) got the navy and gold off to a solid start against the Vikings, defeating Sidney Oliver by major decision 12-3 at 125 pounds. 133-pounder Darquell Pierre (So., St. Petersburg, Fla., Sociology) then dropped a fairly tight match by a score of 11-6.

Unfortunately, William Penn, which was open at two weights, was over-matched the rest of the way.

It was a similar situation for the Statesmen against the Tigers with Jeremy Andujar (Sr., Tampa, Fla., Biology) coming away with a win at 125 pounds. The senior defeated Jordan Martinez 13-11 in overtime.

141-pounder Tyshon Cannon (Jr., LaGrange, Ga., Psychology), who fell 11-3, and 174-pounder Jason Beebe (Fr., Oskaloosa, Iowa, Business Management), who lost 7-1, also went the distance, but came up short in the end.

Next Up: William Penn travels to Pella Saturday to compete in the Central Invitational. Action begins at 9 a.m.

Grand View 49, WPU 4

125–John Altieri (W) won by major decision over Sidney Oliver, 12-3 (4-0)
133–Omeed Chamanzad (G) won by decision over Darquell Pierre, 11-6 (4-3)
141–Grayson Brenna (G) won by fall over Tyshon Cannon, 0:55 (4-9)
149–Devin Reynolds (G) won by fall over Kionte Crocker, 0:29 (4-15)
157–Mason Miller (G) won by technical fall over Johnny Hopper, 16-1 (4-20)
165–Grant Henderson (G) won by fall over Dylan Comstock, 1:28 (4-26)
174–Lawton Benna (G) won by technical fall over Jason Beebe, 16-1 (4-32)
184–Bryce Fisher (G) won by forfeit (4-37)
197–Evan Hansen (G) won by fall over Cody Jones, 2:30 (4-43)
285–Dean Broghammer (G) won by forfeit (4-49)

Campbellsville 49, WPU 3

125–Jeremy Andujar (W) won by decision over Jordan Martinez, 13-11 (OT) (3-0)
133–Kolten Radaz (C) won by fall over Darquell Pierre, 5:49 (3-6)
141–Jayce Carr (C) won by major decision over Tyshon Cannon, 11-3 (3-10)
149–David Sparks (C) won by fall over Tommy Rios, 2:50 (3-16)
157–Michael Diemer (C) won by fall over Johnny Hopper, 1:39 (3-22)
165–LJ Henderson (C) won by fall over Dylan Comstock, 0:46 (3-28)
174–Justin Brown (C) won by decision over Jason Beebe, 7-1 (3-31)
184–Charles Sharon (C) won by forfeit (3-37)
197–Jacob Franklin (C) won by fall over Cody Jones, 2:35 (3-43)
285–Nate Jackson (C) won by forfeit (3-49)



Posted by on Jan 4 2018. Filed under College Sports. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed


Search Archive

Search by Date
Search by Category
Search with Google
Log in | Copyright by Oskaloosa News