Men’s Wrestling 50th Anniversary Team: Honorable Mentions

Oskaloosa–William Penn began sponsoring men’s wrestling as an intercollegiate sport in the 1970-1971 school year. Fifty years later, the program is still going strong with exceptional student-athletes adding to the history every campaign. To commemorate the 50th anniversary, the William Penn Athletic Communications department has constructed a list of the top 50 wrestlers of all-time.

The following grapplers were unfortunately just outside of the Top 50 and received honorable mentions.

Chris Diaz–Two-time national qualifier
Nate Engel–Two-time national qualifier
Angelo Love–Two-time national qualifier
Brandon Palmer–Two-time national qualifier
Brandon Smith–Two-time national qualifier
Karl Spain–Two-time national qualifier
Josh Swanson–Two-time national qualifier
Royce Thomas–Two-time national qualifier
Richard White–Two-time national qualifier

Congratulations to the aforementioned individuals!

Note: As with all recognition lists of this nature, they are not perfect and are subject to scrutiny. In the end, we just want to spotlight the incredible former student-athletes who represented the navy and gold.

Posted by on Jan 13 2021. Filed under College Sports. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed


Search Archive

Search by Date
Search by Category
Search with Google
Log in | Copyright by Oskaloosa News