IAHPERD Announces 2018-2019 Award Recipients

Oskaloosa Community School

Oskaloosa Community School

Waukee, IA, June 27, 2019 — The Iowa Association for Health, Physical Education, Recreation, and Dance announced the 2018-2019 award recipients at its annual convention, which was held at Waukee High School in Waukee, June 25-28. The award ceremony took place on the evening of June 27 at Principal Park in Des Moines, IA. This year’s recipients are:

IAHPERD Honor Awards
• Betsy Luck, Distinguished Service Award, Oskaloosa Community School District
• Hal Garwood, Honorary Lifetime Membership Award, retired Cedar Rapids Community School District
• James Patterson, Honorary Lifetime Membership Award, retired Cedar Rapids Community School District
• Tim Lane, Steve France Outstanding Service Award, Des Moines, IA

IAHPERD Teacher of the Year Awards
• Jared Carder, Elementary Physical Education, Clear Creek Amana Community School District
• Tara Stemsrud, Middle School Physical Education, Des Moines Public Schools
• Justin Kinney, High School Physical Education, Galva-Holstein Community School District

IAHPERD Presidential Citations
• Amy Belding, Pella Community School District
• Jennifer Peterson, William Penn University, Oskaloosa, IA

Every year at the IAHPERD convention professionals are honored for the contributions that have been made to their profession and the Iowans they teach and encounter. The IAHPERD honor awards have been a tradition for 52 years. They first began in 1967 and continue to this day in recognition for meritorious service by our members.

For more information about the IAHPERD convention and its annual awards, visit the website: http://www.iowaahperd.org/

Posted by on Jun 30 2019. Filed under News, School Activities. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed


Search Archive

Search by Date
Search by Category
Search with Google
Log in | Copyright by Oskaloosa News