Young Murty Collects Bounty $$$$ At SIS

by Jerry Mackey

Oskaloosa, Iowa: Wednesday night was a near perfect night for racing at the Southern Iowa Speedway in Oskaloosa on VanUtrecht Farms and Stout Trucking Hall Of Fame Voting night at the races.

The headliner of the night was the Mid State Machine Stock Car feature event. Derrick Agee had won the first four races of the season and thanks to several sponsors a bounty was placed on Agee. The bounty money brought several new cars to the Southern Iowa looking to collect the bonus money. The green flag waved with Damon Murty showing the way in the early going. While the elder Murty was working out front his son, Dallon was making his way to the front from a third row start. Dallon broke loose from the pack and chased down his Dad and made the pass for the lead as the race neared the midway point. While the Murty’s raced out front Derrick Agee was battling his way to the front from a 5th row start. Agee was closing on the Murty’s as the laps wound down but the caution that Agee needed did not come as the race went caution free. The win was worth $1,100 for Dallon Murty.

The Oskaloosa Quality Rental Sportmods feature belonged to local hot shoe Cayden Carter on Wednesday night. Carter led the caution free free feature flag to flag in scoring an impressive win ahead of Logan Anderson and Blaine Webster.

The Parker Tree Service hobby Stocks main event was loaded with side by side racing as Hedrick’s Dustin Griffiths battled his way to the front and scored his third consecutive feature win in a row. Griffiths raced side by side with Rick VanDusseldorp for several laps before taking command late in the race. The third win in a row has prompted several Southern Iowa Speedway backers to post a bounty on Griffiths. If any driver can win ahead of Griffiths on Wednesday, June 9th and additional $350 will go to the victor.

Dirt N Asphalt Sport Compacts saw a strong field of drivers race on Wednesday night with Ottumwa’s Clayton Webster claiming his second feature win of the 21 racing season. Webster took the win ahead of Tyler Harring and Dalton Sowers.

Robert Bell has emerged as a fan favorite in the Non-Wing Sprint car class, the 30 year racing veteran scored his third feature win in a row on Wednesday night taking the checkers ahead of Kelly Graham and Ben Woods.

Wednesday night June 9th will be Memorial Night at the Southern Iowa Speedway presented by Kraig Ford and Kraig Chevrolet. We will honor those who have left us and drivers and fans will have the opportunity to donate funds to the purse in memory of fallen loved ones. Hot laps will take to the track at 7:15 on June 9th.

Wednesday Night June 2 Hall Of Fame Voting Night Feature Results Top 5

Southern Iowa Speedway

MidState Machine Stock Cars

99X Dallon Murty-Chelsea

99 Damon Murty-Chelsea

14 Derrick Agee-Moberly, MO

10G Dustin Griffiths-Hedrick

19 Donnie Pearson-Oskaloosa

Oskaloosa Quality Rental Sportmods

01 Cayden Carter-Oskaloosa

53 Logan Anderson-Eddyville

7 Blaine Webster-Ottumwa

30M Maguire DeJong-Montezuma

26 Scott Brau-Brooklyn

Parker Tree Service Hobby Stocks

10G Dustin Griffiths-Hedrick

1R Rick VanDusseldorp-Oskaloosa

3 Travis Bunnell-Hedrick

73 Aaron Martin-Delta

54 Jessie Williams-New Sharon

Dirt N Asphalt Sport Compacts

15 Clayton Webster-Ottumwa

5H Tyler Harring-Oskaloosa

22D Dalton Sowers-Oskaloosa

41 Nathan Moody-Oskaloosa

52 Billy Cain-Bloomfield

Non-Wing Sprints

71 Robert Bell-Colfax

25 Kelly Graham-Hedrick

11b Ben Woods-Newton

12 Doug Sylvester-Ottumwa

7X Lance Silvers-Ottumwa

Posted by on Jun 4 2021. Filed under Local Sports, Professional Sports. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed


Search Archive

Search by Date
Search by Category
Search with Google
Log in | Copyright by Oskaloosa News