Mahaska County Voters Say Property Rights Important

Steve Wanders (left) shakes hands with Scott Van Veldhuizen (right) after the results came in on Tuesday night. Steve Parker is in the middle.

Steve Wanders (left) shakes hands with Scott Van Veldhuizen (right) after the results came in on Tuesday night. Steve Parker is in the middle.

Oskaloosa, Iowa – Mahaska County voters went to the polls on Tuesday, saying that defending the property rights of landowners is important to them.

In the race for Mahaska County Supervisor candidates, Steve Parker and Steve Wanders ran similar campaigns to protect the property rights of Mahaska County residents, while the other two candidates, Paul DeGeest and Scott Van Veldhuizen’s campaigns focused on a wide variety of issues.

Unofficial results from election night have Steve Parker with 3892 votes, while Steve Parker received 4249, each winning a seat as Mahaska County Supervisor.

Paul DeGeest had 3437 votes, while Scott Van Veldhuizen had 2844 votes.

Diane Upton Crookham ran unopposed as Mahaska County Recorder and was re-elected to another 4-year term with 7288 votes. Connie Van Polen also ran unopposed as Mahaska County Treasurer garnering 7264 votes.

After the numbers were announced, Mahaska County Supervisor Candidate Scott Van Veldhuizen congratulated both Steve Parker and Steve Wanders on their win.

The results are unofficial, but Steve Parker commented on his win Tuesday night. Parker said he was surprised by the vote. “I look forward to working with Steve and Mark and the city and getting things going. Try and patch the differences up and get going.”

Steve Wanders, who was appointed to the Mahaska County Board of Supervisors after the primary, won an outright victory to retain that seat. “We had four good candidates. It was a close race that show that the people of Mahaska County are engaged and they are concerned about their politics. Moving ahead like I said in the last meeting, I’m working for better roads and mental health. I’m going to keep working down that road.”

Connie Van Polen was elected as the next Mahaska County Treasurer. When Van Polen takes office in January, it will be her 24th year working for the treasurer’s office. “Mahaska County can look forward to an office that is from the heart of a public servant.”

“s the newly elected Mahaska County Treasurer, I would like to thank the residents of Mahaska County for their votes and for their support. I would also like to thank my husband Russ Van Polen, my children Brandi Strickler and Scott Schippers for their unconditional love, support and encouragement. My professional life has been about public service. My personal life is defined by family. My term will begin January 1, 2019, which also marks my 24th year of service to Mahaska County. The Treasurers office is a public service office. WE SERVE YOU. I am dedicated to providing the residents of Mahaska County with courteous, efficient and professional service. Thank you again for your support,” added Van Polen.

Andrew Ritland was elected as Mahaska County Attorney after being unopposed, with 6712 votes.

Statewide races have Iowa Governor Kim Reynolds defeating Democrat challenger Fred Hubble with 50.33 % of the vote to Hubbell’s 47.47%

Iowa Secretary of State Paul Pate defeated his Democrat challenger Deidre DeJear. In the Iowa State Auditor’s race Democratic challenger Rob Sand defeated Republican incumbent Mary Mosiman.

Mike Naig won over Democrat Tim Gannon for Iowa Secretary of Agriculture.

In Iowa House District 79, Dustin Hite defeated Democrat Samantha Keith and Libertarian Nick Ryan.

Hite spoke with Oskaloosa News before all the results had come in from other counties. “So far, it’s been an exciting night. I’ve been very humbled by the support I’ve received.”

The race for Iowa House 80, Republican Holly Brink defeated her Democrat opponent Susan McDanel.

Holly Brink spoke with Oskaloosa News over the phone shortly after she was declared the winner for Iowa House District 80. “I think I’m just still speechless,” said Brink after being declared the winner. “I’m going to forever be grateful to everybody who supported me, encouraged me. I want to thank everybody for trusting me and having the confidence to represent District 80.”

Brink described Southern Iowa as “the best place to live.” Brink who choked up on the win said, “I’m just speechless.”

For the U.S. House, Democrat incumbent Dave Loebsack defeated Republican challenger Christopher Peters.

Posted by on Nov 7 2018. Filed under Local News. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed


Search Archive

Search by Date
Search by Category
Search with Google
Log in | Copyright by Oskaloosa News