Letter To The Editor: How do you put a price on human life?

Editors Note: The views and opinions expressed in this editorial are not necessarily the views or opinions of Oskaloosa News.

Paul De Geest, candidate for the Mahaska County Board of Supervisors and former Sheriff, is asking that question in relationship to the county’s need for a new communication system to serve first responders, law enforcement, fire districts and residents.

If elected, Paul would advocate for a digital system to provide coverage for 100% of the County, including areas that are typically underserved. Is it acceptable to have partial coverage in the event of a fire, a caregiver needs help, an accident occurs on one of our roads, or a domestic situation occurs?

Paul’s opponent Steve Wanders believes it’s fine to put 10% of our residents at risk by saving money on a communication system.

As a former sheriff, Paul De Geest has traveled every mile of Mahaska County and knows from first-hand experience what it’s like to need a police back-up, a fire truck, or ambulance, and not have adequate communication service. There are many situations which simply don’t allow for an officer to use two hands to call on a cell phone if radio equipment fails.

In Paul’s own words, “as sheriff, my primary job was to investigate situations and gather information from all sides.”

In addition to his service in law enforcement, Paul has proven his ability to manage budgets. In 12 years of leading the Sheriff’s Department, Paul developed multi-million dollar budget and 12 years out of 12 came in under budget.

Willie Van Weelden is also working to improve emergency communication on behalf of residents and public safety professionals in the County. He is working to gather information on digital systems and learning how they function so we have the best system possible.

If you want supervisors who are fiscally responsible, listen to all sides, and have decades of experience protecting the lives of Mahaska County residents, join us in voting for Paul De Geest and Willie Van Weelden on June 5.

Josh Johnson
Adam Haraldson
Shane Glandon
Tim Nance
David Christenson
Dan Hoy
Mark Neff
Bobby Opheim
Lewis Opheim
Missy Neff
Steve Gerard
Chris Arkema
Alicia Arkema
Brad Latcham
Ruth Moore
Dale Moore
Kelly Mick
Josh Crouse
Chris Latham
Teresa Gerard


Posted by on Jun 2 2018. Filed under Editorial. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed


Search Archive

Search by Date
Search by Category
Search with Google
Log in | Copyright by Oskaloosa News