Kirkland Breaks Through, VanDenBerg, Carter & Orwig Also Win At SIS

Southern Iowa Speedway

by Jerry Mackey

Oskaloosa, Iowa: KBOE Hosted Kids Bike night at the Musco Lighting Southern Iowa Speedway on Wednesday night. The weather man finally smiled on the Mahaska County Fairgrounds and provided a very enjoyable night for racing action. 24 youngsters left the races with a big smile and a brand new bicycle courtesy of a long list of sponsors.

The final feature of the night was run in the Parker Tree Service Hobby Stock division. When the checkered flag flew and the winner made his way to the victory lane it was Derek Kirkland pulling himself from his 2K machine. Kirkland was really dialed in on Wednesday night in topping the 14 lap main event. Kirkland was very emotional in victory lane as it had been over 2 years since he had visited victory lane. Kirkland scored an impressive win over Dustin Griffiths and Brad Stephens.

The Oskaloosa Quality Rental Sportmod main event came down to the final lap as the leaders were forced to deal with lapped traffic. The top three runners split as they encountered lapped traffic on the back chute. The feature winner was very much in doubt as the leaders raced into turn four of the final lap. Carter VanDenBerg chose the correct line in turn four and crossed under the checkers with a win that could not have been by more than a few feet over Cayden Carter and Jason Bass.

The Midstate Machine Stock Car feature win went to Cayden Carter which certainly was no surprise but the fact that Carter did not secure the top spot until lap 12 was somewhat of a surprise. Carter had been running in the tire tracks of race leader Nathan Wood until Wood slipped up the track just a little on lap twelve. Carter took advantage of the miscue and shot into the lead and went on take the checkers first ahead of Wood and Dustin Griffiths.

The Autocrafters Sport Compacts provided the fans with another great race on Wednesday night. Trent Orwig advanced from the third row to take his second consecutive SIS win by less than a car length over Brandon Allison.

Racing action will continue on Wednesday night May 29th which will be Hall Of Fame voting night. The fans will have an opportunity to vote for who they think should be inducted into the SIS Hall of Fame. In addition the Iowa Sportsman Series will be in action along with the four regular classes of cars. Hot laps will get underway at 7 pm with racing to follow.

Wednesday, May 22 KBOE Race Night

Parker Tree Service Hobby Stocks

2K Derick Kirkland-Centerville

10G Dustin Griffiths-Hedrick

55 Brad Stephens-Bussey

27 Clint Nelson-Baxter

14 Christian Huffman-New Sharon

Midstate Machine Stock Cars

10CC Cayden Carter-Oskaloosa

52 Nathan Wood -Sigourney

10G Dustin Griffiths-Hedrick

54 Mike Brown-New Sharon

85 Jason McDaniel-Eldon

Oskaloosa Quality Rental Sportmods

7V Carter VanDenBerg-Oskaloosa

01 Cayden Carter-Oskaloosa

4 Jason Bass-Fort Dodge

7 Blaine Webster-Ottumwa

34Z Cory VanZante-Sully

Autocrafters Sport Compacts

04 Trent Orwig-Ottumwa

14A Brandon Allison-Oskaloosa

72 Jake Houston-Burlington

52 Billy Ccain-Bloomfield

41 Nathan Moody-Oskaloosa

Posted by on May 24 2019. Filed under Local Sports. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed


Search Archive

Search by Date
Search by Category
Search with Google
Log in | Copyright by Oskaloosa News