Hall of Fame Night At Southern Iowa Speedway

Southern Iowa Speedway Racing Action.

Oskaloosa, Iowa – Middlekoop Seed and Dicky Transport hosted the 2019 Hall of Fame Induction night races on Wednesday at the Musco Lightning Southern Iowa Speedway. The 2019 class of inductees included Late Model standouts Mel Morris and Curt Hansen and local favorite Modified/Sprint Car driver Jeff Haines. All three were recognized for their outstanding achievements at the Southern Iowa Speedway and these three are now added to an elite group of individuals already in the Southern Iowa Speedway Hall of Fame.

The Midstate Machine Stock Cars main event capped off an action packed night of racing. The 16 lap feature saw Nathan Wood set the early pace before perennial Osky winner Cayden Carter piloted his “Orange Crush” number 10CC into the lead. Carter went on to score an impressive win over Wood and Scott Dickey.

An outstanding field of 20 Oskaloosa Quality Rental Sportmods took to the Mahaska County Monster ½ mile for their main event. Austin Paul drove to the front from a 9th position start and after several laps of battling with leader Dylan VanWyk. Paul was able to take command and drive on to the 16 lap feature win. VanWyk ran second ahead of Logan Anderson.

The Parker Tree Service Hobby Stock feature belonged to Dustin Griffiths on Wednesday night. Griffiths raced past early leader Scott Shull and went on to hold off the late race challenges by Mike Hughes in scoring the hard fought win.

It is always special to see a driver score his first ever win and that was the case on Wednesday night as local driver Lewie Winkelman topped the Autocrafters Sport Compact feature. Winkelman is a second generation driver at the SIS and the win was celebrated in victory lane by Father (Roy) and son (Lewie). Winkelman led the flag to flag race start to finish by shooting into the lead from his second row start.

The wingless Sprint Cars have been added to the Wednesday night race program for the remainder of the season and Logan Alexander put his name in the record books by scoring the first win for the class. Doug Sylvester ran a strong second.

There will be no racing on July 3rd as the SIS crew would like to wish everyone a safe and enjoyable Holiday over the 4th of July.

Racing will resume at the Musco Lighting Southern Iowa Speedway on July 10th. Bill & Ray’s Truck Repair will host Fan Favorite night at the races. All fans are encouraged to contact their favorite driver to receive a coupon good for $2 off the regular admission on Wednesday, July 10th. Hot laps will get underway at 7 pm with racing to follow.

Wednesday, June 26 Hall Of Fame Night At The SIS

Midstate Machine Stock Cars

10CC Cayden Carter-Oskaloosa

52 Nathan Wood-Sigourney

40 Scott Dickey-Packwood

10G Dustin Griffiths-Hedrick

2N Donovan Nunnikhoven-Sully

Oskaloosa Quality Rental Sportmods

A5 Austin Paul-Newton

17 Dylan VanWyk-Oskaloosa

53 Logan Anderson-Eddyville

1V Curtis VanDerWal-Oskaloosa

29 Colton Livezy-New Sharon

Parker Tree Service hobby Stocks

10G Dustin Griffiths-Hedrick

11 Mike Hughes-Oskaloosa

14 Christian Huffman-New Sharon

55 Brad Stepehens-Bussey

57 Scott Shull-Eldon

Autocrafters Sport Compacts

62 Lewie Winkelman-Beacon

5 Tyler Haring-Oskaloosa

04 Trent Orwig-Ottumwa

52 Billy Cain-Bloomfield

14A Brandon Allison-Oskaloosa

Wingless Sprints

38 Logan Alexander-New Virginia

12 Doug Sylvester-Ottumwa

71C Dilan Alexander-New Virginia

6 Frank Rodgers

5 Chuck AlexanderRussell

Posted by on Jun 29 2019. Filed under Local Sports. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed


Search Archive

Search by Date
Search by Category
Search with Google
Log in | Copyright by Oskaloosa News