DeYoung Scores First Win, Wood Rides Out Nasty Flip At SIS

Oskaloosa, Iowa: It was KBOE Hall of Fame Voting Wednesday night at the Southern Iowa Speedway, the drivers were provided a very smooth wide race track which made for a very exciting night of racing.

The final race of the night was the 16 lap feature for the Oskaloosa Quality Rental Sportmods. The main event yielded a first time winner as Montezuma youngster, Maguire DeYoung scored his first ever win in only his second year behind the wheel. The 15 year old DeYoung took the lead early from his outside front row start but was overtaken by 6th starting Curtis VanDerwal as the race neared the midway point. DeYoung stayed with VanDerwal and used the super fast high line to regain the lead late in the race. DeYoung raced to the checkers ahead of VanDerwal, with Blaine Webster taking third.

The Midstate Machine Stock Car feature saw plenty of close racing and the wildest wreck of the year. On lap 12 of the 16 lap feature Nathan Wood dove low in the middle of turn three and four and the car slid sideways and went into a violent roll over. Wood escaped uninjured but the same could not be said for the 52 car which sustained heavy damage. Derrick Agee scored his second consecutive SIS win on Wednesday night by racing to the front from a third row start. Howard Gordon Jr. was celebrating his birthday on Wednesday night and ran a strong race in taking second.

The Parker Tree Service Hobby Stock division also saw a repeat winner as Dustin Griffiths scored his second consecutive win. Griffiths got out front early and held on for the win over a fast finishing Rick VanDusseldorp.

The Dirt N Asphalt Sport Compact feature saw Nathan Moody cross the finish line first, but post race inspection, forced a disqualification of Moody’s car. The 41 was found to have an illegal engine, which elevated Billy Cain to the winners circle. Cain took the win ahead of Lewie Winkleman.

Jonathan Hughes continued his mastery of the big ½ mile with another impressive win in the Rocking It Pilot non-wing Sprint Cars. Hughes’ win was his eighth in row at Osky dating back to last year. The dominance of the SIS has prompted a Bounty on Hughes and next weeks race will have a minimum of $150 Bounty in place. Doug Sylvester ran second to Hughes on Wednesday night.

Racing will continue on Wednesday, July 1st at the Southern Iowa Speedway as Dickey Transport and Middlekoop Seeds will host the racing action. Hot laps will take to the track at 7:15 with racing to follow.

Southern Iowa Speedway Wednesday, June 24 Features (top5)

Oskaloosa Quality Rental Sportmods

30M Maguire DeYoung-Montezuma
1V Curtis VanDerwal-Oskaloosa
7 Blaine Webster-Ottumwa
53 Logan Anderson-Eddyville
26 Scott Brau-Brooklyn

Midstate Machine Stock Cars

14 Derrick Agee-Moberly, MO
409 Howard Gordon JR.-Oskaloosa
85 Jason McDaniel-Eldon
79S Jason See-Albia
022 Andrew Schroeder-Fremont

Parker Tree Service Hobby Stocks

10G Dustin Griffiths-Hedrick
1R Rick VanDusseldorp-Oskaloosa
14 Christian Huffman-New Sharon
69 Craig Brown-Eldon
73 Aaron Martin-Delta

Dirt N Asphalt Sport Compacts

52 Billy Cain-Bloomfield
62 Lewie Winkleman-Beacon
00 Seth Meinders-Ottumwa
5 Tyler Harring-Oskaloosa

Rocking It Pilot Non-Wing Sprints

67 Jonathan Hughes-Knoxville
12 Doug Sylvester-Ottumwa
25 Kelly Graham-Hedrick
717 Garrett Alexander-Russell
G2 Tyler Graves-Chariton

Posted by on Jun 26 2020. Filed under Local Sports, Professional Sports. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed


Search Archive

Search by Date
Search by Category
Search with Google
Log in | Copyright by Oskaloosa News