Category archives for: Professional Sports

Terry McCarl Doubles His Fun at Knoxville!

by Bill Wright KNOXVILLE, Iowa (July 29, 2017) – Terry McCarl swept the night in both the 410 sprint car class and with the Lucas Oil ASCS 360 Series Saturday night at Knoxville Raceway on Weiler Night. It was the fourth time that the National Sprint Car Hall of Famer from Altoona, Iowa has pulled […]

Ryan Preece Scores First Career Victory at Iowa Speedway

Former NASCAR Next driver wins in overtime NEWTON, Iowa (July 29, 2017) – Ryan Preece bet on himself and won at New Hampshire Motor Speedway. Sure, the 26-year-old driver didn’t win the race at Loudon, NH but he made a loud statement that he deserved a good ride in NASCAR. In Preece’s first start with […]

Todd Gilliland Scores Back-to-Back Wins at Iowa Speedway

NASCAR Next driver gives Bill McAnally Racing fourth straight win in central Iowa NEWTON, Iowa (July 28, 2017) – Todd Gilliland entered this weekend with eyes set on the NASCAR K&N Pro Series East and West titles. Before Friday night’s NASCAR K&N Pro Series Casey’s General Store 150 presented by Vatterott College, Gilliland led the […]

Brown Surges after Absence at Knoxville

By Bob Wilson Knoxville Raceway, KNOXVILLE, Iowa (July 22) – Brian Brown returned to Knoxville after a two-week absence and came away the 410 victor at Knoxville Raceway Saturday night. Sawyer Phillips took the 360 feature and Matthew Stelzer was the victor in the 305 division with 3M as the title sponsor for the night. […]

Mark Dobmeier Beefs Up at Knoxville Raceway!

Clint Garner Wins 360 Thriller, Rookie Kelby Watt Wins in 305’s by Bill Wright KNOXVILLE, Iowa (July 15, 2017) – Mark Dobmeier will be taking the beef back to Grand Forks, North Dakota after conquering South Central Co-op Night at Knoxville Raceway and the Marion County Fair Saturday. In addition to the $4,000 winner’s share, […]

Helio Castroneves Breaks Iowa Speedway Winless Streak for Team Penske

Iowa Speedway to host final race weekend of 2017 July 28-29 NEWTON, Iowa (July 9, 2017) – Will Power gave Team Penske its third consecutive pole at Iowa Speedway during qualifying but it was Helio Castroneves who made team history by winning the 11th running of the Verizon IndyCar Series Iowa Corn 300. Castroneves’ visit […]

Ian Madsen Scores Fourth of Season at Knoxville!

Jamie Ball Wins Race of Attrition in 360’s, Evan Epperson Wins First of Career in 305’s by Bill Wright KNOXVILLE, Iowa (July 8, 2017) – Ian Madsen increased his lead in the 410 point standings at Knoxville Raceway on Dennison Racing Tees/Jersey Freeze Night Saturday with his fourth win of the season and 11th in […]

Dalton Sargeant Surges to ARCA Racing Series Fans With Benefits 150 Victory

Team Penske driver Will Power wins the pole for Sunday’s Iowa Corn 300 NEWTON, Iowa (July 8, 2017) – On Wednesday, Iowa Speedway President Jimmy Small designated Saturday as National Iowa Speedway Day. As part of the inaugural celebration, the speedway expressed its gratitude by naming the ARCA Racing Series event the Fans with Benefits […]

Ian Madsen Holds Off Brother Kerry to Win $4,000 at Knoxville!

Calvin Landis Tops 40-car Field in 360’s, Eric Bridger Scores First Win in 305’s by Bill Wright KNOXVILLE, Iowa (July 1, 2017) – On Pizza Hut/Knoxville Hospitals and Clinics Night, Ian Madsen put on a clinic of his own, leading all 20 laps to record his tenth career feature win at the Knoxville Raceway in […]

Hall of Fame Night Has Danny Lasoski Pocketing $5,000 at Knoxville!

Clint Garner Scores 31st Win in 360’s, Kade Higday Takes Third of Season in 305’s by Bill Wright KNOXVILLE, Iowa (June 24, 2017) – It was a great day to be Danny Lasoski at Knoxville Raceway on Saturday. In the afternoon, he was inducted with three others into the Knoxville Raceway Hall of Fame. At […]


Search Archive

Search by Date
Search by Category
Search with Google
Log in | Copyright by Oskaloosa News