Barnes Scores First Ever, VanDerWal Gets First Of Season At SIS

Southern Iowa Speedway

Southern Iowa Speedway

by Jerry Mackey

Oskaloosa, Iowa: Mother Nature provided a beautiful evening for Stock Car racing on Wednesday night at the Southern Iowa Speedway in Oskaloosa. The racers provided another entertaining night of racing with the final checkered flag waving at 9:50 pm.

The final race of the night saw the Oskaloosa Quality Rental Sportmods race a 16 lap non stop feature. Oskaloosa driver Curtis VanDerWal missed his qualifying heat due to the fact he was at the local High School where his son was being inducted into the National Honor Society. The special night was capped off with VanDerWal coming from the back and chasing down race leader Brayton Carter, who was subbing for Carter VanDenberg, and making the pass late in the main event to score the win on a special night for the VanDerWal family. Maguire DeJong was able to out duel Carter for the runner up spot.

The Mid State Machine Stock Cars was the battle of the Nathan’s. It was the 52 of Nathan Wood leading the majority of the race until the 29 of Nathan Ballard was able to get by and score the win on Wednesday night. Defending track champion Derrick Agee took third at the checkers.

Austin Barnes topped the Parker Tree Service Hobby Stocks in scoring his first ever feature win. Barnes was elated in victory lane and stated “ I love this place and it is by far my favorite track.” Barnes took over the top spot after race leader Keaton Gordon experienced problems and slipped off the back chute. Barnes went on to record the win by less than a car length ahead of Trevor Tanner.

Ben Woods scored his second consecutive feature win in the Clow Valve Company Non-Wing Sprint car division. Woods followed race leader Kelly Graham for several laps before he was able to use a slingshot move entering turn one to secure the lead. Woods went on to lead Graham and Tyler Graves under the checkers.

Matt Moore added his name to the SIS 2022 winners list on Wednesday night by scoring the win in the Dirt N Asphalt Sport Compact Class. A three car break away saw Moore, Seth Meinders and two time SIS winner Terry Bickford battle for the lead. Moore raced side by side with Meinders for several laps before securing the win. Bickford followed the leaders to the checkers in third.

Wednesday, May 25th will be Salute to the Troops night with all current and military veterans being admitted free to the Grandstands. Hot laps will take to the Mahaska County Monster ½ mile at 7:15 pm.

Wednesday, May 18 Southern Iowa Speedway Feature Results (top Five)

Oskaloosa Quality Rental Sportmods

1V Curtis VanDerWal-Oskaloosa

30M Maguire DeJong-Montezuma

7V Brayton Carter-Oskaloosa

29 Colton Livezey-New Sharon

27L Casey Lancaster-Gleenwood, MO

Mid States Machine Stock Cars

29 Nathan Ballard-Marengo

52 Nathan Wood-Sigourney

14 Derrick Agee-Moberly, MO

B17 Steve Byers-Indianola

10G Dustin Griffiths- Hedrick

Parker Tree Service Hobby Stocks

01-Austin Barnes-Des Moines

33T Trevor Tanner-Knoxville

55 Brad Stephens-Bussey

88H Kale Hemsley-Sigourney

5H Tyler Haring-Oskaloosa

Clow Valve Company Non-Wing Sprints

11B Ben Woods-Newton

25 Kelly Graham-Hedrick

T4 Tyler Graves-Chariton

71 Robert Bell-Colfax

17 Steve Pumphrey-Fairfield

Dirt N Asphalt Sport Compacts

2M Matt Moore-Ottumwa

16 Sseth Meinders-Ottumwa

63B Terry Bickford-Shannon City

7 Brandon Pickney-Ottumwa

12T Trent Fowler-Ottumwa

Posted by on May 19 2022. Filed under Local Sports. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed


Search Archive

Search by Date
Search by Category
Search with Google
Log in | Copyright by Oskaloosa News