WPU Tallies 106 NAIA Scholar-Athletes

Oskaloosa–As part of Wednesday’s National Awards Day, the NAIA announced its 2020-2021 Scholar-Athletes.

William Penn eclipsed the century mark with 106 total honorees, led by 16 from the women’s volleyball program. The softball squad, with 14, also had double-figure award recipients. A total of WPU 22 teams had a Scholar-Athlete, including 19 with multiple honorees.

The honorees by sport:

Baseball (7): Tanner Bedier, Zach Edgar, Alex Fisher, Soren Graversen, Jarrett Hunt, Craig Johnson, Jaylan Jones
Cheerleading (4): Allison Blommers, Samantha Broadston, Katie Brockmeier, Makenna Gray
Dance (2): Hannah Koellner, Isabell Smith
Football (7): Alex Crehan, Courtland Griffin, Rives Grogan, Colton Horak, Isaac Knudsen, Austin Mixer, Jace Neugebauer
Men’s Basketball (1): Eddie Daley
Men’s Bowling (3): Ryan Dudley, Aleksander Kostric, Rok Kostric
Men’s Cross Country (1): Jack Miller
Men’s Golf (7): David Decker, Brock Hartley, Andrew Lallier, Jake Shepherd, Jacob Taylor, Spencer Tucker, Mateo Varese
Men’s Lacrosse (2): Ryan Epps, Carter Lucas
Men’s Soccer (2): Luke Andrews, Sebastian Viteri
Men’s Track and Field (2): Jesse Birlson, Jack Miller
Men’s Volleyball (3): Eli Herro, Connor Muff, CJ Rettig
Men’s Wrestling (1): Preston Wiest
Softball (14): Leigha Bailey, Shiloh Cunningham, Madison Garchinski, Rachael Haessly, Kiya Harper, Hallie Hebl, Emily Nichols, Peyton Parker, Shinead Promnitz, Lexi Resa, Lexi Riccardi, Jayde Tucker, Lexy Underwood, Abby Young
Women’s Basketball (5): Mandi Nemire, Bailey Reardon, Madisyn Rogan, Breanna Wendland, Brittany West
Women’s Bowling (3): Casey Brandau, Gabi Evans, Destiny Rottman
Women’s Cross Country (3): Ashlee Johnson, Ashley Omoregie, Madison Udy
Women’s Golf (7): Madison Blake, Bailee Frayne, Julia Hippely, Alexis Guimaraes, Katlyn Killeen, Madison Lantz, Jaclyn Wojciechowski
Women’s Lacrosse (2): Araceli Angel, Paola Cruz
Women’s Soccer (8): Adyson Blom, Cheyenne Brock, Sydney Estrada, Kaitlin Falaney, Lilly Kuga-Fountain, Morgan McClendon, Kathy Niles, Brittney Severson
Women’s Track and Field (6): Jordyn Gilpin, Kathryn Gutch, Katherine Hunter, Ashlee Johnson, Ashley Omoregie, Madison Udy
Women’s Volleyball (16): Macy Bailey, Cameryn Campbell, Delaney Carroll, Paola Cruz, Shiloh Cunningham, Rebekah Eaves, Paige Eiffler, Jordyn Gilpin, Alicia Jaquez, Symone Jopp, Corrin Lepper, Cecily Liphardt, Nikole Opeodu, Ashley Porter, Sydney Roush, Annalise Whitcomb

In order to be eligible for NAIA Scholar-Athlete recognition, student-athletes must have earned a 3.50 grade point average (on a 4.0 scale) and be listed on their team’s eligibility paperwork. Recipients must have attended the nominating institution for two full years (one year for a transfer) prior to being nominated.

Posted by on Sep 19 2021. Filed under Local News. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed


Search Archive

Search by Date
Search by Category
Search with Google
Log in | Copyright by Oskaloosa News