Whalen, Griffiths, VanDerWal, Murty, Carter and Tish Take Checkers First on Opening Night at SIS

The season is now underway at the Southern Iowa Speedway.

The season is now underway at the Southern Iowa Speedway.

By Jeremy Fox

Oskaloosa, Iowa (April 24th, 2013) – Finally after getting rained out the first three weeks, the Southern Iowa Speedway would dodge mother nature to get Edel Lawn Care Night.

The First feature of the night was the IMCA Sport Compacts and this feature would be exciting. John Whalen grabbed the early lead but his brother Bill Whalen Jr. was right there battling out. Merv Chandler would join the fun and Chandler got by both the Whalen’s to grab the lead. Bill Whalen wouldn’t give up as he and Chandler battled out the last four laps and it was Whalen that would take the win over Chandler. John Whalen finished third, Matt Moore was fourth and Alex Sampson was fifth.

Pepsi Cola IMCA Hobby Stocks feature saw Dustin Griffiths lead from start to finish and the two things that slowed him down was a caution on lap 3 for debris and lap traffic. Griffiths would take the win over Bill Bonnett, Dale Porter, Danny Thrasher and Craig Brown.

Ryan Fullenkamp would lead the first three laps in the Pyramid Graphics and Sports IMCA Sport Mod feature but on the fourth lap, Fullenkamp would spin in turn 3 bringing out the yellow and handing the lead over to Curtis VanDerWal. VanDerWal wouldn’t give up that lead as he cruised on to the easy win after the caution on lap 6. Brett Lowry would work his way up to finish in the runner up spot. Kansas Driver Ben Kates was third, Carter VanDenBerg was fourth and Jason Hall was fifth.

In the Budweiser IMCA Stock Cars it was Nathan Wood grabbing the early lead but a caution on lap two for Rich Vogt, Corey Stout, Todd Reitzler, Brad Pinkerton and Randy Killen all getting together on the backstretch. Once that was cleared up the race would resume and Woods had to deal with Damon Murty. Murty would make the pass on lap 4 to take the lead and not look back, Murty would take his 8th win of the season according to his post race interview. Wood finished 2nd, Stout worked his way back up to a 3rd place finish, Alan Van Gorp was 4th and Tom Killen was 5th.

Jesse Dennis would lead the first lap in the Musco Lighting IMCA Modified before it would be “The Gasman” Cayden Carter grabbing the lead. Carter appeared to be heading to the easy win until lap traffic would slow him down which would allow Todd Shute and Jesse Sobbing chase him down infortunately Carter would hold them off to take the win. Shute was 2nd, Sobbing was 3rd with Kyle Wahlert and Jacob Murray rounding out the top 5.

Final feature of the night would be the Iowa Sportsman Series feature and it was Gene Tish taking the lead early. Kris Walker would grab the lead away on lap four but Walker’s lead would be short lived as he would experience some troubles giving the lead back to Tish. Tish would take the win over Darin VanDee, Denny Binns, Roger Dickerson and Chad Reynolds.

Next Wednesday night will be the first of five nights featuring the KBOE Radio IMCA Late Models as it will be Watters Autoland Night. Hot Laps at 7pm and Racing at 7:30 pm every Wednesday.

Southern Iowa Speedway
Edel Lawn Care Night
April 24th, 2013
Musco Lighting IMCA Modifieds
Heat 1 – 38 Bill Gibson
Heat 2 – 99 Jesse Sobbing
Heat 3 – 5 Todd Shute

Feature – 1. 10C Cayden Carter (Oskaloosa); 2. 5 Todd Shute (Des Moines); 3. 99 Jesse Sobbing (Glenwood); 4. 149 Kyle Wahlert (Pleasant Hill); 5. 48J Jacob Murray (Hartford); 6. 70 Jesse Dennis (Prescott); 7. 17 Tyler Groenendyk (Oskaloosa); 8. 02 Andrew Schroeder (Keswick); 9. 99M Tim Murty (Tama); 10. 8 Colt Mather (Webster); 11. 1+ Bill Davis Jr. (Des Moines); 12. 38 Bill Gibson (Knoxville); 13. 51 Tyler VandeKamp (Ankeny); 14. 64 Casey Greubel (Lacona); 15. 71 Jeff Waterman (Quincy, IL); 16. 17X Steve Pumphrey (Fairfield); 17. 40 Scott Dickey (Packwood); DNS: 22 Brandon Banks (Washington)

Budweiser IMCA Stock Car
Heat 1 – 7S Jason Minnehan
Heat 2 – 52 Nathan Wood

Feature – 1. 99D Damon Murty (Chelsea); 2. 52 Nathan Wood (Sigourney); 3. 94 Corey Stout (Oskaloosa); 4. 19A Alan Van Gorp (Des Moines); 5. 1K Tom Killen (Des Moines); 6. 81X Randy Killen (Des Moines); 7. 73C Carl Yaw Jr. (Des Moines); 8. 7S Jason Minnehan (Churdan); 9. 62 Brad Pinkerton (New Sharon); 10. 22R Todd Reitzler (Grinnell); 11. 38 Rich Vogt (Fairfield); DNS: 7 Todd Phillips (Packwood); 19 Donnie Pearson (Oskaloosa)

Pepsi Cola IMCA Hobby Stock
Heat 1 – 69 Graig Brown
Heat 2 – 19 Bill Bonnett

Feature – 1. 10G Dustin Griffiths (Ottumwa); 2. 19 Bill Bonnett (Knoxville); 3. 10 Dale Porter (Bloomfield); 4. 84 Danny Thrasher (Agency); 5. 69 Craig Brown (Eldon); 6. 2013 Jeff Greubel (Lacona); 7. 57 Scott Shull (Eldon); 8. 96R Jamie Songer (Ankeny); 9. 33 Justin Hook (Oskaloosa); 10. 7A Aaron Osweiler (South English); 11. 79S Jason See (Albia); 12. 32T Bobby Greene (Eddyville); 13. 3 Travis Bunnell (Hedrick); 14. 12 Mike Kincaid (Cincinnati); 15. 2N Donavon Nunnikhoven (Sully); 16. 27C Cory Adams (Des Moines)

Pyramid Graphics and Sports IMCA SportMods
Heat 1 – 23K Ben Kates
Heat 2 -10 Brayton Carter

Feature – 1. 1V Curtis VanDerWal (Oskaloosa); 2. 72 Brett Lowry (Montezuma); 3. 23K Ben Kates (Tonganoxie, KS); 4. 7 Carter VanDenBerg (Oskaloosa); 5. 95J Jason Hall (Grinnell); 6. 12 Eric Flander (Barnes City); 7. 10R Ryan Fullenkamp (Bloomfield); 8. 8J AJ Johnson (Oskaloosa); 9. 57 Tyler Gross (Des Moines); 10. 42 Tyler Heckart (Ottumwa); 11. 9A Logan Anderson (Oskaloosa); 12. 85 Jason McDaniel (Eldon); 13. 8T Tony Johnson (Oskaloosa); 14. 10 Brayton Carter (Oskaloosa); 15. 1 Rob Wilsey (Keokuk); 16. 34Z Corey VanZante (Sully); DNS: 29 Bill Livery (New Sharon)

IMCA Sport Compacts
Heat – 00W Bill Whalen Jr.

Feature – 1. 00W Bill Whalen Jr. (Riverside); 2. 2 Merv Chandler (Vinton); 3. 77 John Whalen (Ainsworth); 4. 2M Matt Moore (Ottumwa); 5. 13 Alex Sampson (Iowa City); 6. 04 Trent Orwig (Blakesburg); 7. 30 Shawn Cooney (Des Moines)

Iowa Sportsman Series
Heat – 18W Kris Walker

Feature – 1. 54 Gene Tish (Deep River); 2. 11 Darin VanDee; 3. 88JR Denny Binns (Des Moines); 4. 14 Roger Dickerson; 5. 4 Chad Reynolds; 6. 18W Kris Walker (Oskaloosa); 7. 151 Wes Alexander

Print this ad for $10 off your next oil change  



Posted by on Apr 25 2013. Filed under Local News, Local Sports. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Responses are currently closed, but you can trackback from your own site.

Comments are closed


Search Archive

Search by Date
Search by Category
Search with Google
Log in | Copyright by Oskaloosa News