Southern Iowa Speedway Crowns Track Champions

Oskaloosa, Iowa: DeJong Manufacturing of New Sharon hosted the 2019 Season Championships on Wednesday night at the Musco Lighting Southern Iowa Speedway.

The headliner of the night was the Midstate Machine Stock Car Championship feature. The green flag flew and Moberly, Missouri’s Derrick Agee set sail from his outside front row starting position and led the field into turn one with Nathan Wood running a close second. Agee rode the preferred high line to a comfortable win in the Championship event. As the laps clicked off Agee was able to stretch out his lead over Wood. Dustin Griffiths ran a strong third ahead of a great battle for fourth which ended up seeing Donovan Nunnikhoven holding off Cayden Carter at the finish line. With a second place finish Wood earned his second consecutive season point championship in the very tough Stock Car class.

The Oskaloosa Quality Sportmod class had a strong 16 car starting field on Wednesday night. Blaine Webster led in the early going before a tangle sent Webster to the rear along with Curtis Vanderwal who ended up retiring from the event with mechanical problems. Dyaln VanWyk took over the point position only to be overtaken late in the race by Brayton Carter. VanWyk crossed under the checkers in second while Webster battled back through the pack to take third. The third place run secured the track Championship for the young Webster from Ottumwa.

The Season Championship feature in the Parker Tree Service Hobby Stock main event belonged to Dustin Griffiths. The 10G of Griffiths was recorded as the leader flag to flag, Christian Huffman ran a strong second ahead of Mike Hughes, who advanced from the third row to take third in the Championship run. Griffiths earned his second consecutive Parker Tree Service Hobby Stock track title.

The Autocrafters Sport Compact Season Championship feature saw Trent Orwig finish off a stellar season with both the Track point title and the Championship feature win to his credit. Orwig used a late race pass of leader Brandon Allison to secure the Championship feature win.

Attrition hit the wingless Sprint Car division on Wednesday night as two separate multi car incidents including rollovers happened in the qualifier. Fortunately no one was injured in the incidents. The main event win for the sprinters went to Mike Mayberry who raced to the checkers first ahead of Doug Sylvester.

The Southern Iowa Speedway will host the annual Musco Lighting Fall Challenge on Friday & Saturday, September 20 and 21. Details will be released soon and can be found on the Southern Iowa Speedway web page and will also be available on Facebook.

Wednesday, July 31 DeJong Manufacturing Season Championships

Midstate Machine Stock Cars

14 Derrick Agee-Moberly, MO

52 Nathan Wood-Sigourney

10G Dustin Griffiths-Hedrick

2N Donovan Nunnikhoven-Sully

10CC Cayden Carter-Oskaloosa

Oskaloosa Quality Rental Sportmods

01 Brayton Carter-Oskaloosa

17V Dylan VanWyk-Oskaloosa

7 Blaine Webster-Ottumwa

5T Tyler Inman-Altoona

29 Colton Livezy-New Sharon

Parker Tree Service Hobby Stocks

10G Dustin Griffiths-Hedrick

14 Christian Huffman-New Sharon

11 Mike Hughes-Oskaloosa

57 Mike Shull-Eldon

27 Clint Nelson-Baxter

Autocrafters Sport Compacts

04 Trent Orwig-Ottumwa

52 Billy Cain-Bloomfield

41 Nathan Moody-Oskaloosa

2H James Haring-Oskaloosa

62 Lewie Winkleman-Beacon

Wingless Sprints

0 Mike Mayberry-Fremont

12 Doug Sylvester-Ottumwa

55J Jason Pardock-Melrose

7X Lance Silvers-Ottumwa

Posted by on Aug 2 2019. Filed under Local Sports. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed


Search Archive

Search by Date
Search by Category
Search with Google
Log in | Copyright by Oskaloosa News