Repeat Winners Race to Cure on Juvenile Diabetes Night

Southern Iowa Speedway

Southern Iowa Speedway

by Jeremy Fox

Oskaloosa, Iowa (August 2nd, 2017) – Wednesday Night at Southern Iowa Speedway was Juvenile Diabetes Awareness Night sponsored by Middlekoop Seed Corn of Packwood, Iowa. The youngsters got to have some fun at intermission with a Nickel and Toy Scramble thanks to Middlekoop and State Bank of Bussey, five lucky youngsters would also get the opportunity to present the trophy to the feature winners and take one home for themselves. To learn more about the Type 1 Diabetes check out

The night saw returning visitors to victory lane, Cayden Carter (Modifieds), Nathan Wood (Stock Cars), Curtis VanDerWal (Sport Mods), Shannon Anderson (Hobby Stocks) and Trent Orwig (Sport Compacts).

As you usual, the first feature of the night was the 10 lap Kelli Steil State Farm IMCA Sport Compacts feature. Levi Heath and John Gill led the field to the green but it was Trent Orwig starting outside row two jumping out to the race lead. Orwig after getting by Heath and Gill, he pulled away and never looked back going on take his second win of the season in Osky. Heath held on to second meanwhile Brad Havel passed John Gill for third. Gill held off Ryan Havel for fourth as Havel settled for fifth.

Up next was the 14 lap Musco Lighting IMCA Modified feature. Cayden Carter took advantage of his front row starting spot as he grabbed the lead and pulled away and cruising on to take his fifth win of the season at Osky, this would also mean Carter has clinched the 2017 track title in the Modifieds. Brandon Banks ran second the entire feature, Dakota Simmons finish in the number three spot and Gordon Head was fourth.

In the Budweiser IMCA Stock Cars 16 lap feature, there was three different leaders in the first three laps. Danny Thrasher started on the pole and led lap one but he was in a battle with Dustin Griffiths, Derrick Agee, Nathan Wood, Mike Hughes and Todd Reitzler. Agee took the lead on lap two but it was Nathan Wood taking the lead on lap three. Once Wood was able to get to the top spot, he began to pull away meanwhile the battle behind continued. At the end of the feature, Wood crossed the start and finish line to take his fourth feature win at Osky. Dustin Griffiths was second, Mike Hughes was third, Todd Reitzler was fourth and Danny Thrasher was fifth.

Ethan Braaksma started on the outside front row of the 15 lap Oskaloosa True Value IMCA Sport Mods feature event, Braaksma took full advantage of that by grabbing the lead on lap one. Braaksma’s lead was short as Curtis VanDerWal, worked his way from the fifth place starting spot to take the lead away on lap two. Shortly after lap two scored in the books, the caution came out for debris in turn three. VanDerWal got a great restart and pulled away and went on to take his 10th win of the season at Osky and 7th in a row. Braaksma held on to second meanwhile Cory Van Zante, Austin Paul and Jason McDaniel rounded out the top five.

Final feature of the night was the 15 lap KBOE Radio / Mahaska Bottling IMCA Hobby Stock feature. Jared Stephens wrestled the lead away from Christian Huffman on lap one. Stephens tried to pull away until a pair of cautions came out on lap two for debris on the racing surface. Stephens got a great restart but he knew he need to as Shannon Anderson was making his way through the field. Anderson took the top spot away from Stephens on lap seven and pulled away. Anderson remains perfect as he took his 12th feature win of the season at the Southern Iowa Speedway. Stephens finished second, Jamie Songer was third, Aaron Martin was fourth and Thomas Stevens was fifth.

Weekly Racing is on hiatus until Wednesday August 23rd because of Southern Iowa Sprint Week including the 22nd Annual Front Row Challenge on Monday Night August 7th. When weekly racing returns on the 23rd it will be Season Championship Night presented by KBOE Radio and Mahaska Bottling for the IMCA Modifieds, IMCA Stock Cars, IMCA Sport Mods, IMCA Hobby Stocks and IMCA Sport Compacts. Hot Laps at 7pm and Racing at 7:30pm.

For more information check out or Like Southern Iowa Speedway Every Wednesday Night on Facebook.

Southern Iowa Speedway
Juvenile Diabetes Awareness / Middlekoop Seed Corn
August 2nd, 2017

Musco Lighting IMCA Modifieds

Feature – 1. 10C Cayden Carter, Oskaloosa; 2. 22 Brandon Banks, Washington; 3. 40 Dakota Simmons, Douds; 4. 66 Gordon Head, Des Moines.

Heat – 1. Carter; 2. Banks; 3. Simmons; 4. Head.

Budweiser IMCA Stock Cars

Feature – 1. 52 Nathan Wood, Sigourney; 2. 10G Dustin Griffiths, Hedrick; 3. 11 Mike Hughes, Oskaloosa; 4. 22R Todd Reitzler, Grinnell; 5. 84 Danny Thrasher, Agency; 6. 71 Louis Lynch, Glenwood, Mo.; 7. 54 Mike Brown, New Sharon; 8. 4M Mike McClure, Bloomfield; 9. 64 Trent Jeanes, Chariton; 10. 14 Derrick Agee, Huntsville, Mo.

Heat – 1. Thrasher; 2. Griffiths; 3. Hughes; 4. Wood; 5. Agee; 6. Reitzler; 7. Brown; 8. Lynch; 9. McClure; 10. Jeanes.

Oskaloosa True Value IMCA Sport Mods

Feature – 1. 1V Curtis VanDerWal, Oskaloosa; 2. 11 Ethan Braaksma, Newton; 3. 34Z Cory Van Zante, Sully; 4. A5 Austin Paul, Monroe; 5. 85 Jason McDaniel, Eldon; 6. 84B Trent Brink, Bussey; 7. 352 Charlie Weber, Sigourney; 8. 8T Tony Johnson, Oskaloosa; 9. 55R Steven Berry, Ottumwa; 10. 20 Danny Brau, Brooklyn; 11. 9A Logan Anderson, Eddyville.

Heat 1 – 1. Braaksma; 2. Brink; 3. McDaniel; 4. Weber; 5. Brau; 6. Johnson.

Heat 2- 1. VanDerWal; 2. Paul; 3. Anderson; 4. Van Zante; 5. Berry.

KBOE Radio / Mahaska Bottling IMCA Hobby Stocks

Feature – 1. 78 Shannon Anderson, Des Moines; 2. 9 Jared Stephens, Bussey; 3. 96R Jamie Songer, Ankeny; 4. 73 Aaron Martin, Richland; 5. 81B Thomas Stevens, Guersney; 6. 3S Steve Allen, Oskaloosa; 7. 6 Chanse Hollatz, Clear Lake; 8. 14 Christian Huffman, New Sharon; 9. 02 Mike Goldsberry, Runnells; 10. 69 Craig Brown, Eldon; 11. 3 Travis Bunnell, Hedrick; 12. 55 Brad Stephens, Bussey; 13. 83 Gene Nicklas, Grinnell; 14. 47x Scott Pippert, Elberon; 15. 89R Ryan Wells, Runnells; 16. 18 Anthony Goldsberry, Runnells; 17. 54 Jesse Williams, New Sharon; 18. 71S Dave Seddon, Knoxville; 19. 3T Tonia Stevens, Guersney; 20. 12 Mike Kincaid, Cincinnati; 21. 7K Kelsie Spilman, Hedrick; 22. 32T Bobby Greene, Tracy; 23. 65 Saif Grafke, Oskaloosa; 24. PJ1 PJ Veenstra,Oskaloosa; 25. 47 Raymond Fees, Des Moines.

Heat 1 – 1. Anderson; 2. Jared Stephens; 3. Brown; 4. Kincaid; 5. Bunnell; 6. Williams; 7. Veenstra; 8. Fees; 9. Grafke.

Heat 2 – 1. Songer; 2. Martin; 3. Allen; 4. Nicklas; 5. Wells; 6. Seddon; 7. Anthony Goldsberry; 8. Tonia Stevens.

Heat 3 – 1. Huffman; 2. Hollatz; 3. Thomas Stevens; 4. Pippert; 5. Mike Goldsberry; 6. Greene; 7. Spilman; 8. Brad Stephens.

Kelli Steil State Farm IMCA Sport Compacts

Feature – 1. 04 Trent Orwig, Ottumwa; 2. 9H Levi Heath, Wilton; 3. 11H Brad Havel, Iowa City; 4. 02 John Gill, Marshalltown; 5. 0 Ryan Havel, Iowa City; 6. 00W Bill Whalen Jr., Riverside; 7. 41 Nathan Moody, Oskaloosa; 8. 8R Austin Reuman, Hills; 9. 62 Dalton Winkleman, Beacon.

Heat – 1. Orwig; 2. Heath; 3. Ryan Havel; 4. Gill; 5. Whalen; 6. Brad Havel; 7. Moody; 8. Reuman; 9. Winkleman.



Posted by on Aug 3 2017. Filed under Local Sports, News. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed


Search Archive

Search by Date
Search by Category
Search with Google
Log in | Copyright by Oskaloosa News