Musco Lighting Fall Challenge Provides Plenty of Racing Excitement

Oskaloosa, Iowa: The annual Musco Lighting Fall Challenge provided non stop racing action both Friday and Saturday, October 15 & 16 as the 2021 racing season came to a close on the Mahaska County fairgrounds ½ mile dirt track. The Southern Iowa Speedway saw 200 entries take part over the two days of racing action.

Despite rains early in the week, the dirt track held up very well with preparations being led by Randy McClure. The fans saw plenty of wheel to wheel racing excitement both nights.

The Mid States Machine Stock Cars saw Cedar Rapids driver Johnny Spaw scoring a clean sweep taking both nights A features. Spaw stated in victory lane, “ I have raced Osky many times and have never won here, this is awesome to not only win one but to win both is truly a weekend we won’t forget”.

Oskaloosa regulars Maguire DeJong and Curtis VanDerwal each scored wins in the Oskaloosa Quality Rental Sportmods. First time visitor to Oskaloosa, Ty Griffith ran second in both features.

Bedford, Iowa’s Luke Ramsey topped huge field of Parker Tree Service Hobby Stocks in scoring both nights main events. 61 entries were in attendance in the Hobby Stock class over the two nights.

Local driver Nathan Moody scored the Friday night win in the Dirt N Asphalt Sport Compacts with Kolby Sabin of Des Moines picking up the Saturday night win.

Glen Sayville from New South Whales Australia captured the win on Friday night in Non Wing Sprinters while Colton Fisher scored the win on Saturday night.

The American Iron Racing Series brought 13 cars to the SIS to race on Saturday night and Doak Allen drove his Chevy Nova to the win.

2021 Southern Iowa Speedway Track Champions were recognized on Friday night and were awarded their point fund checks. SIS drivers shared over $5,400 in point fund money. Track champions Doug Sylvester-Non Wing Sprints, Billy Cain-Sport Compacts, Dustin Griffiths-Hobby Stocks, Maguire DeJong-Montezuma and Derrick Agee-Stock Cars.

The Southern Iowa Fairboard and Race committee would like to thank all the Drivers, Crews and especially the fans for their support in 2021 as they look forward to the 2022 season.

Musco Lighting Fall Challenge Feature Results Top Five

Friday, October 15 Saturday, October 16

Mid States Machine Stock Cars

00 Johnny Spaw-Cedar Rapids 1. Spaw

10G Dustin Griffiths-Hedrick 2. 81D Scott Davis-Madrid

93 Mike Jeanette-Newton 3. B17 Steve Byers-Indianola

74 Brock Haines-Fairfield 4. Griffiths

Byers 5. 75 Austin Kemper-Wapello

Oskaloosa Quality Rental Sportmods

30M Maguire Dejong-Montezuma 1. 1V Curtis VanDerwal-Osky

56 Ty Griffith-Webster City 2. Griffith

VanDerwal 3. Dejong

29L Colton Livezy-New Sharon 4. 20J Jeremy Grantham-Allison

04 Trent Orwig-Ottumwa 5. 84B Trent Brink-Bussy

Parker Tree Service Hobby Stocks

17L Luke Ramsey-Bedford 1. Ramsey

11R Brayden Richards-Madrid 2. Richards

27 Clint Nelson-Baxter 3. 4W John Watson-DesMoines

73 Aaron Martin-Delta 4. 77 Keaton Gordon-Ottumwa

77 Gordon 5. Martin

Dirt N Asphalt Sport Compacts

41 Nathan Moody-Osky 1. 9 Kolby Sabin-DesMoines

63B Terry Bickford-Shannon City 2. 23H Alex Hayes-Iowa City

5H Tyler Harring-Osky 3. 2M Matt Moore-Ottumwa

69JX William Michel-Columbus Junction 4. 62 Lewie Winkleman-New Sharon

2M Moore 5. 2H James Harring-Osky

Non Wing Sprints

76 Glen Sayville-Australia 1. 11 Colton Fisher-Mediapolis

11B Ben Woods-Newton 2. Sayville

71 Robert Bell-Colfax 3. 11B Woods

25 Kelly Graham-Hedrick 4. 71 Bell

38 Logan Alexander-New Virginia 5. 12 Doug Sylvester-Ottumwa

American Iron racing Series

1. Doak Allen-West Burlington -72 Nova

2. 25 Bobby VanBuskirk-Hedrick- 58 Studebaker

3. 68 Travis Heier-Anamosa- &5 Ford Maverick

4. 501 Bart Miller-Clarence-68 Ford Galaxie

5. 5 Brian Gade-Clarence-69 Ford Galaxie

Posted by on Oct 17 2021. Filed under Local Sports. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed


Search Archive

Search by Date
Search by Category
Search with Google
Log in | Copyright by Oskaloosa News