Grinnell College Athletics

GRINNELL, Iowa – Grinnell College’s Kevin Pflaum ’13 has won the prestigious Roy W. LeClere Award for academic excellence.

Pflaum is the fourth Pioneer to win the award in the past five years. Joseph “Davis” Hermann ’11 claimed it in 2010-11, Samuel Calisch ’10 won it in 2009-10 and Henry Reich ’09 was the winner in 2008-09.

The award goes to the Midwest Conference male student-athlete who had the highest grade point average during his junior year while lettering in at least two league sports. It is named for Roy W. LeClere, a collegiate sports enthusiast whose passion for the MWC led friends and co-workers to originally sponsor the award as a memorial in his honor.

Pflaum, a biology major from Lincolnshire, Ill. (Deerfield), participates in indoor and outdoor track and field for the Pioneers. He is among the Pioneers’ all-time top 10 performers in a pair of events, ranking seventh in the hammer with an effort of 107-9 and 10th in the weight throw at 37-1/2.

Pflaum is a four-time Academic All-Conference selection.

Illinois College’s Morgan Tiefenbrunn won the Ruth Peterson Award, which goes to the top female student-athlete.



Posted by on Dec 7 2012. Filed under College Sports. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Responses are currently closed, but you can trackback from your own site.

Comments are closed


Search Archive

Search by Date
Search by Category
Search with Google
Log in | Copyright by Oskaloosa News