Grinnell College Athletics

Grinnell College Athletics

GRINNELL, Iowa – Grinnell College has three finalists for this year’s Central Iowa Sports Awards, which are presented by the Greater Des Moines Convention & Visitors Bureau and the Des Moines Area Sports Commission.

The Pioneers have finalists in both the College/University Female and Male Athlete of the Year categories with Sarah Burnell ’14 and Jack Taylor ’15. Additionally, Grinnell’s record-setting men’s basketball game against Faith Baptist Bible College is a finalist for College/University Game of the Year.

Finalists were announced at a ceremony Monday night at the Iowa Hall of Pride in Des Moines.

Online voting for the awards is now open on Facebook and runs through Feb. 10. To cast a ballot, visit

Burnell capped a stellar 2012 cross country season by advancing to the NCAA Division III National Championships. She also won the Midwest Conference title, becoming the first Pioneer woman to accomplish that feat since 2007, and has the second-fastest time in program history.

Taylor made international headlines after scoring an NCAA-record 138 points in a game against Faith Baptist Bible on Nov. 20, 2012, beating the previous mark of 113 set in 1954. Taylor also broke NCAA records for field goals (52), field goals attempted (108), 3-pointers (27) and 3-pointers attempted (71) in the contest.

The Grinnell-Faith Baptist game featured more than Taylor, though. In that contest, the Pioneers set school records for points scored in a game with 179 and turnovers forced with 49. Additionally, Faith Baptist’s David Larson set a school record with 70 points while shooting 77 percent from the field. The previous school record had been 47 points.

Finalists in each category are as follows:

College/University Female Athlete of the Year:
Sarah Burnell, Grinnell College Cross Country
Katie Flood, NCAA Track and Field Performance at Drake
Betsy Saina, Iowa State University Cross Country
Rachel Hackbrath, Drake University Basketball

College/University Male Athlete of the Year:
Jack Taylor, Grinnell College Basketball
Tyler Moorehead, Drake University Football
Jake Knott, Iowa State University Football
Royce White, Iowa State University Basketball

College/University Game of the Year:
Grinnell College vs. Faith Baptist Bible College Men’s Basketball
Baylor vs. Tennessee NCAA Women’s Regional Basketball
Big Four Classic Basketball



Posted by on Jan 31 2013. Filed under College Sports. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Responses are currently closed, but you can trackback from your own site.

Comments are closed


Search Archive

Search by Date
Search by Category
Search with Google
Log in | Copyright by Oskaloosa News