Governor Branstad issues disaster proclamation for four counties, Individual Assistance for Mahaska County

Flooding of the North Skunk River near New Sharon has caused concern that the city could once again lose it's water supply.

Flooding of the North Skunk River near New Sharon once again threatened the cities water supply.

(DES MOINES) – Today, Gov. Terry E. Branstad issued a proclamation of disaster emergency for Benton, Butler, Mahaska and Tama counties. This is in response to the ongoing flooding and severe weather beginning June 26, 2014.

The governor’s proclamation allows State resources to be utilized to respond to and recover from the effects of these storms.

In addition, today’s proclamation activates the Iowa Individual Assistance Program for Tama County.

The Iowa Individual Assistance Program provides grants of up to $5,000 for households with incomes up to 200 percent of the federal poverty level, or a maximum annual income of $39,580, for a family of three. Grants are available for home or car repairs, replacement of clothing or food, and for the expense of temporary housing. Original receipts are required for those seeking reimbursement for actual expenses related to storm recovery. The grant application and instructions are available on the Iowa Department of Human Services website. Potential applicants have 45 days from the date of the proclamation to submit a claim.



Posted by on Jul 10 2014. Filed under Local News. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Responses are currently closed, but you can trackback from your own site.

Comments are closed


Search Archive

Search by Date
Search by Category
Search with Google
Log in | Copyright by Oskaloosa News