E.B.F. District Jazz Champions

E.B.F. District Jazz Champions

On Saturday, March 8th, the Eddyville Blakesburg Fremont High School Jazz Band placed 1st in class 2A at the South East Iowa Bandmasters Association District Jazz Contest in Iowa City. The 1st and 2nd place bands from each class qualify for the Iowa Jazz Championships, which is held in Des Moines on April 8th. This is the 28th year in a row that the E.B.F.H.S. Jazz Band has qualified for the Jazz Championships. Eddyville Blakesburg Fremont placed 1st ahead of Mid-Prairie, West Branch, West Liberty, Central Lee, West Burlington, Louisa – Muscatine, and Mediapolis in class 2A competition.

Several students received an Outstanding Soloist Award for their solo performances. Outstanding Soloist Awards went to: Emma Haselhuhn; tenor sax, Gage DeLaCruz; trumpet, Devon Severson; clarinet, Andrew Hart; trombone, Jackson Voyles; bass, Riley Arnold; alto sax, Courtney Durst; vibes, and Nathan McGinnis; drums. Jessica Jones earned soloist awards on three instruments; Flute, Piano, and Vibes. The band is directed by Joe Overton.

The EBFHS Jazz Band will perform in concert with the junior high jazz band on Thursday March 20th at the EBFHS Cafetorium at 7:00 P.M.



Posted by on Mar 11 2014. Filed under News, School Activities. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Responses are currently closed, but you can trackback from your own site.

Comments are closed


Search Archive

Search by Date
Search by Category
Search with Google
Log in | Copyright by Oskaloosa News