Copeland Auto Body Welcomes First Responders to the Southern Iowa Speedway

By: Jerry Mackey

Oskaloosa, Iowa: Wednesday night Copeland Auto Body sponsored First Responders night at the Southern Iowa Speedway, the First Responders and all the fans were treated to an entertaining night of racing in five divisions with the final checkered flag of the night waving at 9:30 pm.

The Midstate Machine Stock Car Feature provided a spirited battle between the two drivers who have established themselves as the drivers to beat in 23 at the Southern Iowa Speedway in the Stock Car division. Todd Reitzler led the first half of the race with Nathan Wood providing constant challenges. Just past the midway point of the race Wood was able to make a move in turn three that garnered him the lead and Wood went on to score the win ahead of Reitzler and Dustin Griffiths.

Maguire DeJong is a senior in high school at Montezuma, but the youngster knows the fast way around the Mahaska County Monster. DeJong chased down race leader Carter VanDenberg and made the pass on lap nine of the 16 lap feature in the Oskaloosa Quality Rental Sportmod division. DeJong sailed on to the win ahead of VanDenberg and New Sharon’s Kyle Harwood turned in a great run in taking third.

The 14 lap Parker Tree Service Hobby Stock feature again provided thrilling races as the lead was hotly contested for the majority of the race. Dustin Griffiths started in the fourth row and worked to the front joining a pack of four drivers that were racing for the lead, three wide on several occasions. Griffiths emerged from the pack late in the race and went on to record back to back feature wins at Osky. Aaron Martin ran up front the entire race and crossed under the checkers in second ahead of Eric Stanton.

James Haring parked his Dirt N Asphalt Sport Compact in victory lane for the second time this season. Haring overtook early leader Bob Hayes, on lap five and went on to record the win. Hayes held off a fast closing Garrett Porter for second on Wednesday night.

Ben Woods scored another feature win in the Clow Valve Company Non-Wing Sprint Car division. Wood ran second a week ago and looked determined on Wednesday night in scoring the feature win ahead of Doug Sylvester and last weeks winner Tyler Graves took third.

Next Wednesday will be Kool Seamless Gutters “Salute To The Troops” night with all active and retired Military being admitted free. Hot laps will get underway at 7:15 with racing to follow.

Southern Iowa Speedway Wednesday, May 17 Feature Results (top 5)

Midstate Machine Stock Cars

52 Nathan Wood-Sigourney

22R Todd Reitzler-Grinnell

10G Dustin Griffiths-Hedrick

85 Jason McDaniel- Eldon

3 Travis Bunnell-Hedrick

Oskaloosa Quality Rental Sportmods

30M Maguire Dejong-Montezuma

7V Carter VanDenberg-Oskaloosa

15K Kyle Harwood-New Sharon

29 Colton Livezey-New Sharon

55R Steven Berry-Ottumwa

Parker Tree Service Hobby Stocks

10G Dustin Griffiths-Hedrick

73 Aaron Martin-Delta

7B Eric Stanton-Carlisle

14 Christian Huffman-New Sharon

7 Keaton Gordon-Ottumwa

Dirt N Asphalt Sport Compacts

2H James Haring-Oskaloosa

0 Bob (Gabby) Hayes-New Sharon

746 Garrett Porter-Libertyville

7 Brandon Pickney-Ottumwa

12K Quinten Kelsey-Eddyville

Clow Valve Company Non-Wing Sprint Cars

11B Ben Woods-Newton

12 Doug Sylvester-Ottumwa

T4 Tyler Graves-Chariton

7J Nathan James-Russell

3T Tim Folkerts-Albia

Posted by on May 17 2023. Filed under Local Sports. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed


Search Archive

Search by Date
Search by Category
Search with Google
Log in | Copyright by Oskaloosa News