Anderson, VanDerWal, Moody and Griffiths Win on Tuesday Night at the Southern Iowa Fair

Southern Iowa Speedway

by Jeremy Fox

Oskaloosa, Iowa (July 18th, 2017) – Racing action returned to the Southern Iowa Speedway on Tuesday Night for the 1st of two nights of racing featuring the IMCA divisions at the Southern Iowa Fair. The night sponsored by Community 1st Credit Union, KBOE Radio and Mahaska Bottling. A couple of visitors where in the house as Brett Simala from Yuma, Arizona was in the house to hot lap his new Harris Modified and IMCA’s Western Region Director Paul Vetter made his first of couple of visits to the Hawkeye State from California.

Shannon Anderson (Hobby Stocks) and Curtis VanDerWal (SportMods) continue their winning ways meanwhile Nathan Moody (Sport Compacts) and Dustin Griffiths (Stock Cars), each get their first wins at the Monster Half Mile.

First feature of the night was the 10 lap Kelli Steil State Farm IMCA Sport Compacts feature. Levi Heath and Nathan Moody led the field to the green flag and it was Heath jumping out to the lead. Moody stayed close and the when the caution for debris in turn three. Heath and Moody battled it out for the lead with Heath hanging on until Moody took advantage of the door opening up on lap eight. Moody took the lead away and went on to take his first career feature win with Heath finishing second. Bill Whalen Jr came home in third, Bryan Claussen was fourth and Dalton Winkleman was fifth.

Up next was the Budweiser IMCA Stock Cars 14 lap feature event. Dustin Griffiths took advantage with his outside front row starting spot by grabbing the top spot early and look comfortable out front until the caution came out on lap eight for debris in turn one. Griffiths, Nathan Wood and Danny Thrasher battled it out for the top spot but it was Griffiths that prevailed and went on to take his first win at the monster half mile. Wood and Thrasher finished second and third. Donnie Pearson was fourth and Mike Hughes was fifth exiting early, experiencing right front damage after contact with the front stretch wall.

Blaine Webster and Tom Lathrop led the field to the green in the 14 lap Oskaloosa True Value IMCA Sport Mods feature. It was Webster taking the early race lead before AJ Johnson took the top spot away on lap four. Shortly after the caution came out on lap four for debris in turn two. Johnson had Webster and Curtis VanDerWal on the back bumper and it was VanDerWal that took the lead away, however the caution came out again on lap five for debris in turn two and VanDerWal put back in second after being penalized one spot for aggressive contact on the restart. Johnson held on to that top spot until VanDerWal made the right move and took the lead away on lap seven. VanDerWal and the field saw the caution come out on lap nine for debris in turn one but it was VanDerWal that would go on to take his eighth win in nine races and fifth win in a row. Colton Livezey took the second spot, Jason McDaniel was third, Johnson was fourth and Blaine Webster was fifth.

Final feature of the night was the 14 lap KBOE Radio / Mahaska Bottling IMCA Hobby Stocks feature and before a single lap in the books the caution came out for Jeff Anderson in turn three forcing a complete restart. On the restart, Bradley Graham from Brooklyn took the top spot but on lap two, Graham had to compete with Chanse Hollatz and Shannon Anderson for the race lead. Anderson came across the line in first on lap two just before the caution came out for debris on the race track. Anderson had Hollatz and Graham on his back side on the restart but held them off and began to pull away until encountering lap traffic before the caution came out on lap 12. Graham slowed in turn one and two bring out the caution on lap 12 forcing a green-white-checkered flag finish. Shannon Anderson went on to take win number 10 at the monster half mile, Jeff Anderson worked his way back up to finish second. Hollatz, Steve Allen and Christan Huffman rounded out the top five.

Since Anderson remained perfect the bounty will continue to Wednesday Night’s Fair Race. Bounty of $300 sponsored by Edel Lawn Service, Cindy Drost and Independent Auto of Marshalltown for the Hobby Stocks.

Night number two of the Southern Iowa Fair will feature the Arnold Motor Supply Hawkeye Dirt Tour for the Musco Lighting IMCA Modifieds. Also racing will be the IMCA Stock Cars, IMCA Sport Mods, IMCA Hobby Stocks and IMCA Sport Compacts. It will also be the 5th Annual Dave Lowry Memorial sponsored by Monte Motor Parts, Nutz Graphics, KBOE Radio and Mahaska Bottling. Hot Laps at 7pm and Racing at 7:30pm.

For more information check out or Like Southern Iowa Speedway Every Wednesday Night on Facebook.

Southern Iowa Speedway

Community 1st Credit Union / KBOE / Mahaska Bottling Night
Southern Iowa Fair

July 18th, 2017

Budweiser IMCA Stock Cars

Feature – 1. 10G Dustin Griffiths, Hedrick; 2. 52 Nathan Wood, Sigourney; 3. 84 Danny Thrasher, Agency; 4. 19 Donnie Pearson, Oskaloosa; 5. 11 Mike Hughes, Oskaloosa.

Heat – 1. Thrasher; 2. Griffiths; 3. Hughes; 4. Wood; 5. Pearson.

Oskaloosa True Value IMCA Sport Mods

Feature – 1. 1V Curtis VanDerWal, Oskaloosa; 2. 29 Colton Livezey, New Sharon; 3. 85 Jason McDaniel, Eldon; 4. 27 AJ Johnson, New Sharon; 5. 07 Blaine Webster, Ottumwa; 6. A5 Austin Paul, Monroe; 7. 8T Tony Johnson, New Sharon; 8. 8 Tom Lathrop, Ottumwa; 9. 01 Brayton Carter, Oskaloosa; 10. 7V Carter VanDenBerg, Oskaloosa; DNS/11. 34Z Cory Van Zante, Sully.

Heat 1 – 1. Carter; 2. Van Zante; 3. Paul; 4. Lathrop; 5. AJ Johnson; DNS/6. Tony Johnson.

Heat 2 – 1. VanDerWal; 2. Webster; 3. Livezey; 4. McDaniel; 5. VanDenBerg.

KBOE Radio / Mahaska Bottling IMCA Hobby Stocks

Feature – 1. 78 Shannon Anderson, Des Moines; 2. 8R Jeff Anderson, Atlantic; 3. 6 Chanse Hollatz, Clear Lake; 4. 3S Steve Allen, Oskaloosa; 5. 14 Christian Huffman, New Sharon; 6. 73 Aaron Martin, Richland; 7. 57 Scott Shull, Agency; 8. 81B Thomas Stevens, Guernsey; 9. 7K Kelsie Spilman, Hedrick; 10. 89R Ryan Wells, Runnells; 11. 54 Jesse Williams, New Sharon; 12. 65 Saif Grafke, Oskaloosa; 13. 4 Bradley Graham, Brooklyn; 14. 21ZC Cody Cleghorn, Des Moines; 15. 71S Dave Seddon, Knoxville; 16. 12 Mike Kincaid, Cincinnati; 17. 13m Riley Meinders, Oskaloosa.

Heat 1 – 1. Martin; 2. Graham; 3. Jeff Anderson; 4. Cleghorn; 5. Spilman; 6. Stevens; 7. Kincaid; 8. Meinders; 9. Williams.

Heat 2 – 1. Allen; 2. Shannon Anderson; 3. Huffman; 4. Hollatz; 5. Shull; 6. Wells; 7. Grafke; 8. Seddon.

Kelli Steil State Farm IMCA Sport Compacts

Feature – 1. 41 Nathan Moody, Oskaloosa; 2. 9H Levi Heath, Wilton; 3. 00W Bill Whalen Jr., Riverside; 4. 01C Bryan Claussen, Eddyville; 5. 62 Dalton Winkleman, Beacon; 6. 04 Trent Orwig, Ottumwa.

Heat – 1. Heath; 2. Claussen; 3. Moody; 4. Whalen; 5. Winkleman; 6. Orwig.



Posted by on Jul 19 2017. Filed under Local Sports. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed


Search Archive

Search by Date
Search by Category
Search with Google
Log in | Copyright by Oskaloosa News