Recognizing the Achievements of Many at Academic Awards Night

OHS Class of 2017 members inducted into the National Honor Society.

Oskaloosa, Iowa – The Oskaloosa High School class of 2017 have turned in their last papers, cleaned out their lockers, shaken hands, and given hugs to many of those who were a part of their education.

Their last step will be on Sunday, when they walk across the stage to accept their diplomas and officially begin their post-high school life journies.

On Wednesday night, the students from the sophomore, junior, and senior classes came together to recognize their academic achievements.

Students were inducted into the National Honor Society, awarded academic letters, and much more, including more than 1.25 million dollars in school money offered. Not all of that money was used, as students were often offered scholarships to more than one school.

Oskaloosa Schools Superintendent Russ Reiter spoke, stating that the students “were well-deserving.”

Reiter congratulated the family and friends of the students who were gathered, calling them “some outstanding kids, no doubt about it. We’ve got some great kids in this school district, and these are the best of the best.

“They are here tonight because they are outstanding,” said Reiter of the students on hand for the award ceremony.

Listed are the awards students were presented with on Wednesday Night.

National Honor Society
10th Grade: Josh Hartl, Emma Kelderman, Kirby Nelson, Emma Raymond.
11th Grade: Josie Bunnell, Megan Burke, Megan Burke, Kinsey Cook, Marta Iverson, Alexander Nagorny, Nick Reiter, Sydney Robbins, Jacob Spears, Kyndall VerBeek.
12th Grade: Ashley Brockman, Josh Diehl, Annie Fitzpatrick, Ethan Kelderman, Willis Knox, Mallory Lanphier, Jack Moore, Spencer Nelson, Patrick North, Alexis Westercamp.

Little Hawkeye Conference (Seniors who have carried 3.75 or higher throughout their high school careers.)
Sienna DeJong, Josh Diehl, Katie Doll, Claire Fiechtner, Annie Fitzpatrick, John Hammes, John Hirl, Melissa Moorman, Jack Moore, Spencer Nelson, Abby Parker, Kaity Richmond, Cara Roquet, Nick Schaffner, Connor Swim, Mason VanEngelenhoven, Leah Van Maanen, Mary Yarkosky.

President’s Education Award
Blake Allsup, Letisha Beck Davis, Shelby Briggs, Seth Crook, John Hirl, Kyla Lemke, Blake Meislahn, Alissa Newendorp, Abigail Parker, Maycie Stanbro, Abbigail Straube, Abigail Thury, Mason VanEngelenhoven.

52577 – Spencer Nelson, Mary Yarkosky
Altrusa Club – Kaitlyn Richmond
American Citizenship Award – Connor Swim, Natasha Shipp
American Legion Auxiliary Girls State – Sienna DeJong, Natasha Shipp
American Legion Auxiliary Unit 34 – Faith Welch, Emily VanDerVeer
Army Reserve Scholar Athlete – Connor Swim, Sienna DeJong
Bank Iowa Spirit of Chandy Award – Connor Swim
Bernie Saggau Award – Leah Van Maanen
Carl & Martha Drost Elementary Education – Kendra Sage
Carl & Martha Drost Agriculture – Leah Van Maanen
Chamber OACDG – Kaitlyn Richmond, Melissa Moorman, Ethan Kelderman
Des Moines Register Academic All-State Team – Kaitlyn Richmond
Dordt College – Sienna DeJong
Drake University – John Hirl
E. Wayne Cooley – Melissa Moorman
Emily Fish Pecore – Sienna DeJong
Gallon Grad Award – Gillian Gross, Shaylyn Walker, Alissa Newendorp, Madison Braden, Maycie Stanbro
Garland-VanArkel Langkamp – Gillian Gross
Governors Scholars – Sienna DeJong, Leah Van Maanen
Graceland University – Drew Sams
Grand View University – Mercedes Hynick
Hy-Vee – Connor Swim
I Care Award – Aubrey Miller
IHCC-Foundation – Letisha Beck Davis, Cori Flatt, Jeremiah Lemke, Mackenzie Miller, Cassie Nimtz, Parker Pose, Shalandra Shilling, Julie Wanders, Kiara Moyer
Iowa State University – Gillian Gross, Spencer Nelson, Annie Fitzpatrick, Willis Knox, Mason VanEngelenhoven
Isaac Hoven Scholarship – Sienna DeJong, Andy Sterner
J. Ralph & Gladys Meier Scholarship – Alissa Newendorp, Kaitlyn Richmond, Connor Swim, Leah Van Maanen
Kiwanis Club Scholarship – Timothy Van Donselaar
Larry A. Hull Trust – Kamryn Beers, Grant Hladik, Nickolas Schaffner, Connor Swim
Leighton State Bank – Alissa Newendorp
Mahaska Health Partnership – Erica Green
Mahaska Hospital Auxilary – Erica Green
Mahaska Drug – Grant Hladik
Marine corps Athlete – Cara Roquet, Jack Moore
Marine corps Music – Natasha Shipp
Marine corps Scholar – Leah Van Maanen
MidWest One – John Hammes
Oskaloosa Education Association – Gillian Gross
Oskaloosa Music Scholarship – John Hammes
Oskaloosa Vision Center – Nicholas Schaffner
Outstanding Young Leader – Leah Van Maanen
Pella Rolscreen Foundation Character Counts – Alexis Agan, Blake Meislahn
P.E.O Chapter IO – Erica Green, Mary Yarkosky
P.E.O Chapter NN – Sienna DeJong
Rotary Club -Melissa Moorman
Simpson College – Abby Parker, Natasha Shipp
TD&T – Annie Fitzpatrick
True Bank – Mason Van Engelenhoven
University of Iowa – John Hammes, Connor Swim
University of Northern Iowa – Maycie Stanbro, Grant Hladik, Alissa Newendorp
Vernie Wells / Building trades – Cole Waite
William Penn – Aidan Reed, Blake Allsup, Emily Lanphier, Ethan Arnold, Jason Beebe, Abbigail Straube, Serena Hodgson, Chase DeJong, Linay Seibert



Posted by on May 18 2017. Filed under Education, Local News. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed


Search Archive

Search by Date
Search by Category
Search with Google
Log in | Copyright by Oskaloosa News