PTK All-Iowa Academic Team Members: 2017

Front row: Left to right – Michaela Lunsford. Justin Birkner Skyler Lawson
Back row: Dr. Matt Thompson, and Dr. Marlene Sprouse

Iowa’s top community college students were honored at a March 4th ceremony in Des Moines. Four Indian Hills Community College students have achieved All Iowa Academic Team status for the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, which recognizes outstanding academic achievement. These students were honored at a banquet hosted by Northeast Iowa Community College at the Embassy Suites in Des Moines on March 1. The event’s keynote speaker was Lynn Tincher-Ladner, Ph.D., president and chief executive officer of Phi Theta Kappa.

Four students from Indian Hills Community College were named to the All-Iowa Academic Team. Honored for exceptional scholarship were:

Centerville Students:

Anthony Furlin.  Anthony is from Numa and graduated from Seymour High School.  Anthony plans to attend Northwest Missouri State University and major in Agronomy.

Skyler Lawson is from Cincinnati and is a graduate of Centerville High School.  She is an IHCC cheerleader.  She works full time at an elementary school through Americorps 4-H Outreach program assisting classroom teachers.  Skyler plans to become a music teacher with the goal of returning to her hometown to teach.

Ottumwa Students:

Michaela Lunsford is from Ottumwa.  She has been on five mission trips outside the U.S.  She currently works at a local bakery, participates in three college clubs and is a youth leader at her church.  She is in the process of writing a book on the differences between the biblical meaning versus the LGBT movement’s meaning.  She plans to pursue her bachelor’s degree in English, Writing, and Art

Justin Birkner is from Bloomfield and was home schooled.  He currently works part time as a bank teller at Community 1st Credit Union as well as a volunteer fire fighter.  Upon graduation in May 2017 Justin plans to transfer to Iowa State majoring in Supply Chain Management.

The All-USA Community College Academic Team selection process is administered by Phi Theta Kappa, an international honor society for two-year colleges. Membership in the society, which encourages academic excellence and promotes community service, is not a requirement for eligibility, but most awardees are members, and many hold leadership positions in their campus chapters.



Posted by on Jun 5 2017. Filed under Education, News. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed


Search Archive

Search by Date
Search by Category
Search with Google
Log in | Copyright by Oskaloosa News