November Elections Bringing Little Interest

Oskaloosa, Iowa- On Tuesday, November 5, voters across the state will elect mayor, city council members, and school board members for their respective community. While communities such as Ottumwa and Pella have a number of contested races to be decided, Oskaloosa voters will see a relatively blank ballot.

For Oskaloosa City Council elections, all three incumbent city council members, as well as the incumbent mayor, are running unopposed for re-election. Those include Mayor Dave Krutzfeldt, 2nd ward city councilman Bob Drost, 4th ward city councilman Steve Burnett, and at-large city councilman Joe Caligiuri.

Krutzfeldt was first elected in 2009. Caligiuri was elected in 2011, and Burnett in 2015. Drost was appointed to the council in 2018, after the resignation of former councilman Tom Jimenez.

For Oskaloosa School Board, incumbent Amanda McGraw is seeking re-election for director district 1, while Sharma Parlett is seeking re-election to director district 3. Former board member Charlie Comfort is running unopposed for director district 4, where incumbent Kraig Van Hulzen is not running for a second full term. In director district 6, former board member Shawn Moyer is running unopposed, as incumbent Erik Edgren is not seeking re-election.

The polls in Tuesday’s election will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. Polling locations will be the same locations used in the 2018 general election, per the Mahaska County Auditor’s office. For more information on the 2019 city/school elections, visit

Posted by on Nov 3 2019. Filed under Local News. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed


Search Archive

Search by Date
Search by Category
Search with Google
Log in | Copyright by Oskaloosa News