EBFHS Jazz Band (submitted photo)

EBFHS Jazz Band (submitted photo)

On Thursday April 5th, the EBFHS Jazz Band competed at the Iowa Jazz Championships at Iowa State University in Ames. This is the 32nd year in a row that the EBFHS Jazz Band has qualified for this event. Musco Lighting sponsors the event in cooperation with Iowa Jazz Championships, Inc., Jazz Educators of Iowa, and the Iowa Music Educators Association. The Iowa Jazz Championships are a unique event nationally due to the format and caliber of performances. The annual state championship event invites the top 15 jazz ensembles for each class 1A-4A (60 bands total), bringing together many of Iowa’s finest young jazz musicians to compete in one of the largest one-day festivals in the nation. Jazz Bands qualify for the Iowa Jazz Championships through district and independent qualifying festivals. Each jazz ensemble performs a twenty-minute set before a panel of three judges during the morning and afternoon competition. Two EBF students were honored with Outstanding Soloist Awards for their solo performances: Delanee Van Zante; alto sax and Cyrus Rogers; tenor sax.

This has been a good season for EBF. On Saturday, March 3rd, the Eddyville Blakesburg Fremont High School Jazz Band placed 2nd in class 2A at the South-East Iowa Bandmasters Association District Jazz Contest in Iowa City. The 1st and 2nd place bands from each class qualify for the Iowa Jazz Championships, which will be held at Iowa State University on April 5th. This is the 32nd year in a row that the E.B.F.H.S. Jazz Band has qualified for the Jazz Championships. Eddyville Blakesburg Fremont placed 2nd behind the excellent band from Mid-Prairie. There were eight 2A bands in competition. EBF outscored the bands from West Branch, West Burlington, Louisa – Muscatine, Central Lee, Davis County, & Williamsburg in class 2A competition.

Several students received an Outstanding Soloist Award for their solo performances. Outstanding Soloist Awards went to: Kendal Durst; bass, Grace Manternach; flute, Eric Schutt; trombone, Harrison Mock; trumpet, Julia Fairchild; vibes, Cyrus Rogers; tenor sax, Elijah Hartman; drums, Maggie Voyles; piano, Tara Diephius; tenor sax, Cameron Kolthoff; trumpet, Delanee Van Zante; alto sax, and Emma Mock; clarinet. The EBF Sax Section received an Outstanding Section Award for their superior performance. The band also competed at the Simpson Jazz Festival and the State Jazz Contest in Pella earlier in the season. The band is directed by Joe Overton.



Posted by on Apr 13 2018. Filed under School Activities. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed


Search Archive

Search by Date
Search by Category
Search with Google
Log in | Copyright by Oskaloosa News