Author Archive
Stories written by NASCAR Wire Service

Austin Dillon Puts No. 3 On Coors Light Pole For The Daytona 500

Austin Dillion prepares for his qualifying run at the Iowa Speedway on August 4, 2012. (photo by Ken Allsup/Oskaloosa News)

Driving Iconic No. 3, Dillon To Lead Field To Green In ‘The Great American Race’ DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (Feb. 16, 2014) – Austin Dillon, driving the historic No. 3 car in its return to NASCAR Sprint Cup Series competition for the first time since 2001, won the Coors Light Pole for the 56th running of […]

NASCAR Appoints Jimmy Small As Iowa Speedway President

NASCAR Camping World Truck Series at Iowa Speedway 2013 (photo by Ken Allsup/Oskaloosa News)

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (Dec. 12, 2013) – As the first step toward a bright future under new ownership, Iowa Speedway today welcomed Jimmy Small, a rising talent within the industry, as its new track president. Small’s appointment at the Iowa Events Center in Des Moines comes on the heels of NASCAR’s announcement two weeks ago […]

NASCAR Purchases Iowa Speedway

NASCAR Camping World Truck Series at Iowa Speedway 2013 (photo by Ken Allsup/Oskaloosa News)

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (Nov. 27, 2013) – In a strategic move designed to expand its commitment to enhancing event experiences and fan engagement, as well as solidify the future of one of the premier racing and entertainment facilities in the Midwest, NASCAR announced today that it has purchased Iowa Speedway. The agreement, finalized today under […]

Buescher’s late charge nets Iowa truck victory

James Buescher celebrates in victory lane at Iowa Speedway on Sunday. (photo by Ken Allsup/Oskaloosa News)

NASCAR Wire Service James Buescher had a plan and it worked to perfection. Saving a set of sticker tires for a late-race trip to pit road – after his rivals had exhausted their supply of fresh rubber – pushed the reigning NASCAR Camping World Truck Series champion to victory in Sunday’s Fan Appreciation 200 at […]

Peters Finishes Strong To Post Second Iowa Speedway Victory

Timothy Peters celebrates his victory at the Iowa Speedway on Saturday night (photo by Ken Allsup/Oskaloosa News)

By K.J. Pilcher NEWTON, Iowa–Timothy Peters knows the way to victory lane at Iowa Speedway. He followed that path Saturday night to his best finish of the season. It was the Red Horse Racing driver’s first win of the season and sixth in his career. He jumped to sixth in points. The track provided a […]

Late pass gives Trevor Bayne NASCAR Nationwide Series Iowa victory

Trevor Bayne used a late race pass over pole-sitter Austin Dilliion to claim victory at Iowa Speedway on Sunday. (photo by Ken Allsup/Oskaloosa News)

By K.J. Pilcher NEWTON, Iowa — Marriage hasn’t slowed down Trevor Bayne. The 22-year-old joked over the radio that he should have gotten married a long time ago after he concluded a stunning and exciting late-race comeback Sunday. Bayne exchanged vows with new wife, Ashton, on Tuesday and celebrated their honeymoon by winning the NASCAR […]

Self Takes Win In East-West Race At Iowa

Michael Self during practice at Iowa Speedway (photo by Ken Allsup/Oskaloosa News)

First K&N West Driver To Take Overall Victory In Combo Race NEWTON, Iowa – Michael Self continued his winning ways Friday night at Iowa Speedway. The 22-year-old from Park City, Utah, pulled away from the NASCAR K&N Pro Series field en route to the win in the Casey’s General Store 150. It was Self’s second […]

Ryan Blaney, 18, sets truck series youth mark with Iowa win

Ryan Blaney made a previous stop to the Iowa Speedway this year when he also raced in the Nationwide Series. (photo by Ken Allsup)

Sept. 15, 2012 NASCAR Wire Service NEWTON, Iowa — Ryan Blaney, 18, withstood a series of late-race restarts to become the youngest winner in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series, prevailing in Saturday night’s American Ethanol 200 Presented by Hy-Vee at Iowa Speedway. Blaney, making just his third truck series start, held off a final […]

Elliott Sadler scorches Iowa for fourth Nationwide win of 2012

Elliott Sadler celebrates in Victory Lane at Iowa Speedway on August 4, 2012 (photo by Don Hubbard/Oskaloosa News)

Aug. 4, 2012 By K.J. Pilcher Special for NASCAR Wire Service NEWTON, Iowa — It isn’t how you start, but how you finish. After earning three straight poles at Iowa Speedway, Elliott Sadler finally has a finish to match. Sadler passed Justin Allgaier with 58 laps remaining and pulled away to win the NASCAR Nationwide […]

2013 NASCAR Hall Of Fame Class Announced

Rusty Wallace was inducted into the 2013 Hall of Fame Class is seen here Sunday at Iowa Speedway (photo by Ginger Allsup)

Baker, Owens, Thomas, Wallace And Wood Comprise List Of New Inductees DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (May 23, 2012) – NASCAR announced today the 2013 class of inductees into the NASCAR Hall of Fame. The five-person class, which will be officially inducted in a ceremony on Friday, Feb. 8, 2013 at the NASCAR Hall of Fame in […]

Search Archive

Search by Date
Search by Category
Search with Google
Log in | Copyright by Oskaloosa News